What’s on my reading list? 

Good afternoon!

I apologise for the lack of blogging the past couple of days, I’ve been really poorly so I haven’t really felt like doing much. But now that I’m living off water and grapes and feeling a little bit better, I thought I would share with you my reading list, for any bookworms out there that fancy getting stuck into a new book!

Firstly, a book called ‘Stolen Child’ by Laura Elliott.


I am a little bit of a depressive reader, if you will. I like a good bit of drama, bit of thriller and anticipation. This one seems to be one of those books that you just can’t put down.

‘Carla Kelly wakes to find her two-day-old baby daughter’s cot empty. Carla, a top model, launches a fierce national campaign to find her baby, but she receives a deluge of threats and recriminations from strangers: she flaunted her pregnancy in the media, she cashed in on it, she deserves everything she gets…One letter Carla receives stands out from the rest. It opens wounds and exposes shocking secrets from Carla’s past that suggest what happened to her daughter was revenge a long time planned.’ 

On the back of the book, it says that ‘if you love Daughter by Jane Shemilt then you will love this!’ I have read this book and I did absolutely love it, it was gripping and had an amazing twist to it, I’ve recommended it to friends because I really enjoyed it, so I’m thinking that I will probably enjoy ‘Stolen Child’ too!

 

Next on my reading list is ‘The Boy Next Door’ by Meg Cabot.

9780060096199.jpg

‘Gossip columnist and single New York City girl Mel lives in the most exciting place in the world, yet she’s bored with her love life. But things get interesting fast when the old lady next door is nearly murdered. Mel starts paying closer attention to her neighbours—what exactly is going on with the cute boy next door? Has Mel found the love of her life—or a killer?’

This has really drawn me in, it’s books like this that I automatically pick up in the book shops. I’m really excited to give this one a read!

After reading the back of this book, I decided it is a necessity on my reading list: ‘Mr Maybe’ by Jane Green.

31101

‘To Libby Mason, Mr. Right has always meant Mr. Rich. A twenty seven-year-old publicist, she’s barely able to afford her fashionable and fabulous lifestyle and often has to foot the bill for dates with Struggling Writer Nick, a sexy but perpetually strapped-for-cash guy she’s dating (no commitments – really). So when Ed, Britain’s wealthiest but stodgiest bachelor, enters the picture, her idea of the fairy tale romance is turned on it’s head. Mr. Maybe is the tale of her heartfelt but hilarious deliberation, irresistibly chronicled by bestselling author Jane Green. On one hand, Nick makes up for his low bank-account balance by his performance in the sack, or in the bathtub, as the case may be. But life with him means little more than nightly trips to the bar, a dark and grungy apartment, and plenty of dull political tirades to boot. But those blue eyes, and that tender heart… On the other hand, there’s Ed, whose luxurious house and gargantuan bank account are quite tempting to the starving Libby. But his unsavory mustache and bumbling ways make Libby wonder if the platinum AMEX and unlimited “retail therapy” are worth it. He may have fallen in love with her at first sight, but nothing seems to solve his lackluster performance in the sack – even speed reading The Joy of Sex. When the diamond shopping commences, Libby is forced to realize that the time for “maybe” is up.  Taking romantic comedy to a hip, sparkling new level, Mr. Maybe is a classic tale of what happens to one girl when her heart and her head aren’t looking for the same thing. With a laugh and minute and a heroine whose struggles in the dating jungle will remind you of your own, Mr. Maybe is a story that all will leave you smitten.’ 

And lastly, because I am a Harry Potter fan, this definitely has to be included in my list of books to read: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts 1 and 2. 

download

‘The brand new, eighth instalment of the Wizarding World of Harry Potter is a play. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts I and II, available as a script book, is a piece of theatre based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany. The world premiere of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child will be on July 30th 2016 in London’s West End. Being Harry Potter was never easy but now he must contend with being an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school children as well. Harry struggles to keep his past buried and move on, while his youngest son Albus must bear the weight of a family legacy that he does not want. As the past fuses with the present, father and son face an ominous truth: sometimes, darkness originates where you least expect it.’
I think I will really enjoy reading this, it’s going to be very different to what I am used to reading as it is the form of a script but that’s one of the reasons I really want to give it a go! Plus, Daniel and I really wanted to watch this in the theatre but didn’t get the chance to, so reading it will hopefully be just as good!

 

That’s it for my reading list, I hope you enjoyed it! If you have read any of these books or have any books that you are loving at the moment then please let me know in the comments!

Lots of love, Laura x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

