Second Trimester Update!

Hello everyone!

As I am now 28 weeks pregnant and in my third trimester, I thought I would do a recap of my experience through the second trimester of pregnancy (13 – 27 weeks) and update you all on how everything is going!

After Daniel and I went for our first scan at 12 weeks, we got given a due date of 12th July 2016 and a date for our 20 week scan which would tell us the gender of our baby.

By around week 13 of my pregnancy, the morning sickness started to subside (THANK GOD) and I was finally starting to feel a bit better and starting to get my energy back. For those women that have morning sickness through their whole pregnancy, I definitely think they deserve some sort of medal, because it is absolutely awful. Obviously, with my emetophobia, I probably thought that it was a lot worse than it actually was. But, by the first few weeks of the second trimester; I was starting to feel myself again.

By week 16, Daniel, myself and our families and friends had already purchased a few bits and pieces for the baby but because we weren’t sure of the sex of the baby, it was all very neutral stuff – things like white or cream baby grows, nappies and wipes etc. I heard about a place in the City that will give you a scan at 16+ weeks to determine the gender of your baby and me being as impatient as I am, I had to have it done! The place was called ‘Window to the Womb’ and was such a lovely experience. We were allowed to have up to five family members come in the room with us and were given lots of pictures and a DVD of the scan too. Then we were told to everyone’s surprise – A BOY!!!

12802953_10208018427714047_4695130027171839347_n

Of course, once we knew what we were having – the shopping could commence! We didn’t buy anything massively big until the 20 week scan, so that we could get it confirmed that we were having a boy, and luckily they did!

13061926_10208477763277149_418044352020961329_n

13082782_10208477763437153_5989831240521861292_n.jpg

We have been out and about, shopping and looking around for everything we will need for our new bundle of joy – and I have been loving it! Our families have been a massive help and have also been buying lots of things too as it’s Daniel’s parent’s first grandchild and my parents first grandchild too.

Also at 16 weeks, we had our second visit to see the midwife which is when we got to hear our baby’s heartbeat for the first time.

Although the sickness has subsided a little, I have started to develop a bit of heartburn and really itchy skin (mainly my legs and palms of my hands) which is quite weird! I have also been experiencing period-like pain which I have been told by the midwife that this is my womb stretching and making room for my little one.

So far, the weeks during my second trimester are the weeks I have felt at my best in the pregnancy. I have still been suffering from anxiety quite badly but I was diagnosed with this long before the pregnancy anyway, so I think the hormonal changes probably haven’t helped but, physically, my body has felt at is best in the second trimester.

We had a little bit of a scare when I was 27 weeks pregnant as the baby’s movements changed quite drastically and we ended up at the delivery suiteΒ which you can read more about by clicking on the link.

13076630_10208477763797162_9170100083853251249_n.jpg

Luckily, everything was okay – we are just keeping a close eye on him now and counting the kicks!

Now, a week into the third trimester, time is flying, my belly is growing and we are getting more and more excited. Only a few more things to buy until we are ready for him to be here! Baby Bloomfield, we can’t wait to meet you! πŸ˜€

Thanks for reading,

Lots of love, Laura x

 

 

3 thoughts on “Second Trimester Update!

  1. Pastel Carousel says:

    Love the pictures! And congrats on finding out that you’re having a little boy! πŸ˜€ Boys love their mamas SO much. My son likes to run up to me randomly and say “mama, YOU!!” Which is his way of saying I love you 😜 It’s the best πŸ’—πŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

