Help For Panic Attacks

Hi guys,

It’s the middle of the night here in the UK and I’ve just suffered another quite awful panic attack, I thought I would share with you a video I have just watched to help calm myself from the panic attack.

Sometimes, of course – situations are different and not all methods work for certain situations. For example, sometimes I will feel anxious if I am in a meeting or if I am waiting to be seen by a Doctor, and the only way I can make myself feel better in those situations is to leave, run away and just get out of there! (this is not advised and is definitely not the best solution at all!)

But tonight it’s just me by myself, Daniel works nights so he is out working and I’m laying in bed reflecting on pretty much everything. Due to my emetophobia, if I feel slightly unwell or sick I will start getting anxiety, and it really took over tonight. I kept thinking to myself that there is absolutely nothing I can do to calm myself down right now, I am already in my bed and in the comfort of my own home, I am not surrounded by people and am not in any danger, the only thing I could think of doing was driving over to my mum’s house, as she often helps calm me down, but of course it’s half past 12 on a Thursday night, I can’t exactly go knocking at the door!

So, I searched on Google for the ‘tapping’ technique to calm myself down, as I have previously used this as part of a hypnotherapy session and I must say it really has done the job tonight. I have had to do it twice as I was still a little bit shaken up after the first go.

I thought I would share this link with you as I know a few people on here suffer from crippling anxiety too, so if you’re ever feeling completely and utterly helpless in the middle of a panic attack, try giving it a go. I know it’s hard to focus on something other than the panic attack when it’s in full swing but this may be the one thing that really helps you.

Also, I have found that writing blog posts about how you are feeling when you are having a panic attack or feeling anxious, getting it all out in the open instead of stuck in your head can really make you feel better – more relieved. It’s kind of like you have taken it out of your mind and stuck it on the screen to try and make sense of it all, even writing this blog post has really helped me. Even if you don’t end up publishing it or doing anything with it, it can still help!

I really really hope this helps!

Thanks for reading,

Lots of love, Laura x

Leave a Reply

