Five Things I’d Tell My Younger Self

Good afternoon everyone!

I know I would not be where I am now without all the varied experiences I’ve had. Even so, I often find myself wishing I could tell my younger self some things about how life really works, about what’s real and true.

 Here are five things I wish I could tell my younger self:

  1. Mother Knows Best – As a teenager, I definitely thought I was invincible and didn’t want to be told what to do. Over the years I have learnt that my mum knows what is best for me, through her own life experiences probably; she knows me inside out and knows what will happen if I do certain things. Also, being a mum-to-be, I have a list of hopes and dreams for my little one and things I would want him to achieve and things I wouldn’t want him to do. Of course, he will be his own person, but I think that through my own experiences, I would give him as much guidance as I could. Listen to your mother!! 
  2. Saving Money Is Important – My parents told me this time and time again as I was growing up and earning my own money but I have always been a bit rubbish with money. As soon as I’ve got money in the bank, I’m not happy until it’s all gone! I wish that I could tell my younger self to save money, so that I can have the best set up for myself when I am older and for my children. I wish that I could go back to my first part time job, and tell myself to save something like £20 every pay day, to get myself used to saving. Then, as my jobs went on and I was earning more, I could save more and more.
  3. Your Heart Will Get Broken Again – But you WILL move on. I’ve had my heart broken a fair few times, as we probably all have. But at the time, I felt like my heart would never mend and I would never ever find somebody else. Even though people always told me that I would move on and get over it one day, it’s hard to believe when it’s a fresh break up. If I’d of known that I would meet someone as amazing as Daniel one day, I probably would have saved myself a lot of tears.
  4. Pursue Your Dreams – When I was completing my GCSE’s, I really gave it my all, spending hours and hours revising and testing myself, trying my best in class. And it did pay off, I got great results. When I started my A-Levels, I became involved in  relationships and didn’t have a lot of interest in school any more which I’m really gutted about. I wish that I could tell myself to stay in school, get the grades I needed and go to University.  I wouldn’t say that I regret not going, because I wouldn’t have had the wonderful experiences and met the amazing people that I have if I were at University, but at the same time – I do believe I could have gotten to where I want to be easier.
  5. Enjoy Being Young – There is only a limited amount of time before you will be grown up and responsible of your own place, paying bills and even being responsible for your own children. Although it all sounds cool and exciting, it’s hard work to maintain! So enjoy being young and carefree, enjoy living with your parents and paying minimal bills, enjoy not having a full-time job, enjoy learning new things because before you know it, you’ll be putting all that knowledge into practise!!

So what would you tell your younger self?

Thanks for reading,

Lots of love, Laura x

Leave a Reply

