First Trimester Update

Good afternoon everyone!

As you may or may not be aware, in November 2015, Daniel and I found out we were expecting our first bundle of joy, due 12th July 2016. We are completely over the moon and so I thought I would share with you my experience trimester by trimester.

On the 1st November 2015, the day after an amazing Halloween party, I woke up and felt the urge to take a pregnancy test. I had taken a couple a few weeks previously which came back negative, but for some bizarre reason I felt the need to do another. I had bought some pregnancy strips from Boots, and decided to try them out. To my complete surprise, the first one had two lines. TWO. I didn’t quite believe my eyes so I decided to take another and another. All positive.  After running around like a headless chicken for about half an hour; I decided to wake Daniel (he was a little hangover from the night before so it took more than one attempt) I shook him and said ‘I’ve got something to show you’ he finally woke and after a couple of minutes, it actually hit him, he’s going to be a daddy. He started to cry, as quietly as possible because his friend was asleep on the sofa next to him – and we didn’t really want to wake him! We snuck out and decided to buy a more expensive pregnancy test, just to be sure…. and bam ‘Pregnant 1-2 weeks’

IMG_0525

 

It was quite a shock to begin with because we just weren’t expecting it to happen, so telling our parents was quite nerve wracking. We decided we would go round to each of our parents and tell them the news. Luckily, both of our families were equally as excited as us 🙂

My pregnancy started off pretty well for the first couple of weeks, I had no obvious symptoms of pregnancy. After my 21st birthday, I slowly started getting less and less energy and more and more sick. By December, I was pretty much bed bound because I had terrible morning sickness. I lost quite a bit of weight because I couldn’t eat much – which actually makes the sickness worse! I managed to stomach toast on most days but that’s about it. Daniel and I have two guinea pigs in the flat which were in the spare room, next to our bedroom – and the smell of the sawdust or hay really got to me and made me gag every time I left the bedroom. So much so that I ended up staying over at my parents house for a couple of weeks. Luckily, the sickness started to ease off by Christmas, although I was still very nauseous. I was eating a lot of ice lollies to ease the sickness (which I strongly recommend!!) I also had to sleep with a sports bra on most nights because I had very sore blobs, and the extra support really helped!

The doctors tell you that you must take folic acid supplements for the first 12 weeks of your pregnancy (and before if you are trying to conceive) but I’ve always struggled to swallow tablets, and the pregnancy ones I bought from boots were absolutely huge. So I had a shop about and found some folic acid supplements in gummy sweet form which were perfect, they tasted amazing and done the job.

IMG_1785.PNG

Since I found out I was expecting, I made sure I kept my skin very hydrated – especially my belly. I went out on a little bit of a spree after researching the best stretch mark creams/oils that people had tried. I decided to give a few of them a go just so that I could avoid stretch marks as much as possible. I picked up Bio Oil, Palmers Cocoa Butter for Stretch Mark and  Palmer Cocoa Butter Formula Skin Therapy Oil. (I may do a review on these) I have been applying these alternatively twice a day.

Once the morning sickness had worn off and I got most of my energy back, I could finally start to enjoy my pregnancy and go for our first scan. If any of you have had children or are expecting, you will know that it is pretty scary going for any scan, let alone your first! After pretty much 12 weeks of waiting, we finally got to see our amazing bundle of joy on the screen. It was the most magical moment I have ever experienced, and seeing the baby move around and seeing the little heartbeat was amazing.

First sign of baby bump – 13 weeks pregnant

IMG_1065 (2).JPG IMG_0997

Our little unicorn!! I will be revealing the gender and more details in the Second Trimester Update! ❤

Thank you all for reading,

Lots of love, Laura & bump x

One thought on “First Trimester Update

Leave a Reply

