Tricks to Prevent Split Ends!

It’s that time of the week again that I share my favourite tips with my favourite people. I am always taking on board new tips and tricks to get healthy looking hair after over using bleach and heat on my hair, I’m desperate to get it looking beautiful again, and these following tips have made such a difference to my split end problem!

  • Be gentle

The worst time to brush your hair is when it’s wet, it can cause damage and breakage. If you’re like me and you have quite knotty hair then I would recommend using a de-tangle spray whilst your hair is still wet, then using a wide-tooth comb or a ‘tangle teaser’ to brush through your hair when wet.

  • Second Day Hair

Wash your hair every other day, or even longer if you can. This helps your body to repair the hair with it’s own natural oils.

  • Condition

Always always ALWAYS use conditioner, it’s your new best friend. Make sure you apply it directly to the ends of your hair. Leave on for 3-4 minutes. I like to use hair masks too, my current favourite is John Frieda Miraculous Recovery.

  • Avoid Ends

Shampoo your scalp only, let your hair hang down as normal and gently massage the shampoo onto the scalp. The ends of your hair will get washed, don’t panic. They will get some of the ‘second hand suds’ when you rinse your hair. Don’t leave shampoo on your hair for longer than 2 minutes.

  • Trim Trim Trim

Parting with your beloved hair can be hard, I experience great pain every time I visit my hairdressers but if you want gorgeous healthy hair, you have to deal with this pain unfortunately. Having a trim every 6-8 weeks will make such a difference to your hair, after a few months you will notice that your split ends have reduced.

I hope my tips help you and your beautiful hair.

Thanks for reading,

Lots of love, Laura x

Leave a Reply

